It’s not often that you stumble across small mammals when you aren’t looking for them, after all being small by name and small by nature they can quite easily evade detection. This, however, is exactly what happened to me last summer. It was a beautifully warm day in July. One of those rare days in the UK where the ground sizzles, the air smells of dust and flowers, and you leave the house without a raincoat. Due to the glorious weather and lack of swell some friends and I headed to our favourite cliff jumping spot on the South Coast. The tall grey cliffs of imposing granite are accessed via a meandering cliff top path that winds it’s way down to them and a then, eventually, to the beach. It was while we were ambling down towards the sea that, out of the corner of my eye, I spotted a small hectic blur in the undergrowth. I had, quite literally stumbled across a common shrew (Sorex araneus), frantically going about it’s business. Not that the pace of the shrews activity was a surprise, having such high metabolic rates means that they’re lives are a perpetual hunt for food, they must eat every 2-3 hours in order to survive. Anyhow, I thought I’d take the opportunity for some on the spot animal behaviour filming. Enjoy!

Camera : iphone

Camera woman: (un)Steady Sarah

